Dmv Insurance Codes And Company Contacts
- This information is published in cooperation with The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have questions or need further information, contact the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles. Changes or corrections can be emailed to DMV Code Mailbox, and must include an NAIC number, DMV Code, company name, and contact information.
- Auto Insurance Cards are related to the Insurance Information and Enforcement System program.
NOTE: Company names marked with asterisks are no longer authorized to issue auto policies in New York State and the DMV code info is here for informational purposes only.
New York Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the New York Department of Financial Services. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
- The type of car you are insuring
- Prior auto insurance coverage
- How long youve been driving
- Whether or not you use your car for business
New York also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
How Many Car Accidents Happen In New York
Its estimated that there are between 10 and 11 million car crashes in New York every year. While most crashes result in only property damage, there are almost 137,000 emergency room visits each year due to traffic-related accidents. Of that number, over 12,000 cases lead to hospitalizations, and about 1,100 accidents lead to death. About one-third of all fatal accidents in New York were alcohol-related.
The most common causes for car accidents in New York include:
Recommended Reading: Does Your Insurance Go Up If You Get Hit
Cheapest Auto Insurance In New York For 40
Drivers with poor credit in New York can check out the following insurers with the lowest average rates for full coverage:
Geico: $2,202 per year, or about $184 per month.
Utica National: $2,427 per year, or about $202 per month.
Erie: $2,881 per year, or about $240 per month.
Chubb: $2,932 per year, or about $244 per month.
Preferred Mutual: $3,247 per year, or about $271 per month.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In New York
As stated above, automobile insurance is required by law in New York state. Your insurance company will issue you an identification card that you shall carry on you at all times. If your coverage ends at any time for any reason , your insurance provider is required by law to notify the state .
The New York Vehicle and Traffic Code 315 states that when any car insurance policy is canceled or terminated, that driver needs to surrender his vehicle registration and license plates. If you do not return your registration and plates, the New York State DMV will suspend your registration and drivers license. It is very important to do so in order to avoid penalties placed on you and/or your license.
If you are caught operating an uninsured automobile or if you allow another person to drive your uninsured automobile, your license will be revoked for at least one year. This penalty also applies in the case you are involved in an accident without insurance.
In addition to license suspensions, monetary fines and even jail time are given to those caught driving without insurance. New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law 319 states that driving without insurance is a traffic infraction that carries a civil penalty of $150 to $1500 and/or jail time of up to 15 days.
Note We are not in any way contacted with the New York Department Of Insurance. If you are unsure of any law or regulation stated on this page, please contact them.
New York Department of Insurance25 Beaver St.
Don’t Miss: What Disqualifies From Long-term Care Insurance
Consider Minimum Insurance Requirements In New York
Auto insurance is required in New York. You cannot register your vehicle at the New York Department of Motor Vehicles until you purchase a policy. The state minimum limits include bodily injury liability and property damage liability, both of which have a liability per person and liability per accident limit. New York drivers must also purchase at least minimum limits of personal injury protection and uninsured motorist coverage.
Rest assured that you do not need to memorize New Yorks car insurance laws you will not be able to buy a policy that does not comply with the minimum limits. But knowing the state minimum level of coverage could help you understand if you need higher limits or additional coverage options.
Optional Basic Economic Loss
In a recent ruling by New York State, maximum loss of income received from no-fault was increased from $1,000 to $2,000 a month for 36 months. However, with a $50,000 limit, coverage may be used well before the 36 months. This is where OBEL comes in to help you out. This coverage provides an extra amount on top of the no-fault limit.
You May Like: State Farm Life Insurance Quotes
New York Car Insurance State Minimums
Helps cover expenses related to the injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian when an accident is your fault.
$25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident
Helps cover expenses related to the damage of another person’s property like vehicles, homes, buildings and other structures when an accident is your fault.
Helps cover your medical expenses if you’re in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn’t have any insurance.
|$25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident
Helps cover your medical expenses if you’re in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn’t have enough liability insurance.
|Grouped with uninsured motorist coverage
If you and/or your passengers are hurt in an accident, this helps cover medical or funeral expenses.
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that’s been damaged in an accident.
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that’s been stolen or damaged by things like storms or vandalism.
All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.
¹Although New York law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.
New York State Car Insurance Requirements
No one really wants to pay their car insurance bills. But in a state like New York with its often busy roads and weather, both of which make accidents an inevitability paying for insurance is a wise investment. And its also a legal requirement, with repercussions for those New York drivers who dont carry the minimum amount of coverage.
Don’t Miss: Health Insurance Benefits For Employees
How To Find The Best Car Insurance Rates In New York
Across the board, car insurance rates in the state of New York are relatively the same. Drivers looking for relief from the high prices, however, can shop multiple insurance companies to find the best available price. According to research, the companies that offer the best rates for New York drivers are State Farm, Progressive, Geico, The General, and Nationwide. In addition to shopping around, drivers can also customize their coverage to save money on premiums.
Average Car Insurance Cost In New York
The average cost of car insurance in New York is $2,996 annually for full coverage and $1,339 annually for minimum coverage. These averages are significantly higher than the national average prices of $1,771 per year for full coverage and $545 per year for minimum coverage. New Yorks average rates also far outstrip the average rates of surrounding states.
The high population density in the state may be partly to blame for the high premiums. More vehicles on the road means a greater chance of getting into an accident. To compensate for higher risk, auto insurers often charge a higher premium. However, your rates may be more or less than the state average based on factors like your driving history.
|Average annual premium for minimum coverage in New York
|Average annual premium for full coverage in New York
Read Also: What Is Sr 22 Insurance
What Happens If My Insurance Is Cancelled Or Reinstated Or I Get New Insurance
Your insurance company must notify the DMV electronically if
- your insurance coverage is cancelled
- your insurance coverage is reinstated
- you get new insurance coverage
In your response to the DMV letter you must either
- prove that you have insurance coverage
- prove that you sold the vehicle
- prove that insurance coverage was not required
If you have insurance coverage, also ask your insurance company to file an electronic notice of insurance coverage with the DMV.
If you do not have auto liability insurance, you must surrender your vehicle plates to the DMV immediately.
Cheapest Car Insurance For Military Families
If you’re an active member of the military or a veteran or have an immediate family member who is chances are you’ll get a relatively cheap rate with USAA, a company that isn’t available to the general public.
Because of that restriction, USAA isn’t ranked with the others, but it was among the cheapest five auto insurance options for 26 of the 48 driver profiles we examined.
New York Teen Driver Laws
If your teen is getting close to the driving age, you and your teen should know:
- At age 16, people in New York become eligible for a learner permit. To receive the permit, drivers must pay the application fee and pass a written test.
- The learner permit allows them to drive between 5:01 AM and 8:59 PM with a parent, guardian or driving instructor and transport no more than one non-family member under age 21.
- After 6 months with a learner permit and 50 hours of supervised driving , a driver can test to receive a junior driver’s license.
- Drivers who only have a junior license aren’t allowed to drive within the 5 boroughs of New York City, so it’s often beneficial to bypass the junior driver’s license until he or she qualifies for a senior license.
- Outside of New York City, the junior license is valid with a series of curfew and passenger restrictions specific to each county.
- At age 18 drivers may apply for a senior driver’s license with no restrictions.
New York Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Buffalo to Albany, Syracuse to Rochester, New York has thousands of miles of roadways. Theyll take you from the heart of Manhattan, to the Finger Lakes, Niagara Falls, the Hudson Valley and the Adirondacks. Theyre used by over 11 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of 6,500 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Empire State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to New Yorks basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
New York state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. New York is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for New York drivers is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $50,000 basic personal injury protection
Recommended Reading: Should I Get Rental Car Insurance
How Much Is Car Insurance In New York
How much car insurance costs in New York depends on what type of car insurance you need or want. Common types of car insurance in New York include:
- Liability insurance, which protects you when you hurt someone or damage property when youre involved in a car accident and are at fault
- Collision insurance, which covers repair costs to your own car when youre involved in a car accident and are at fault
- Comprehensive insurance, which covers repair or replacement costs of your car when its stolen, vandalized, or damaged in a natural disaster
- Personal injury protection , which covers your own medical costs when youre injured in a car accident, regardless of fault
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance, which covers your medical and car repair costs if youre involved in a car accident, and the at-fault driver doesnt have insurance
If youre not sure which types of car insurance are best for you, the best option is to get a car insurance quote and talk to a New York car insurance expert who can help get you the coverage you need.
Cheapest Minimum Coverage Car Insurance In New York For 30
Drivers in New York who want their state’s minimum coverage can check with the following companies, which had the lowest average rates:
Main Street America: $618 per year, or about $52 per month.
Utica National: $635 per year, or about $53 per month.
Preferred Mutual: $649 per year, or about $54 per month.
Erie: $677 per year, or about $56 per month.
Geico: $720 per year, or about $60 per month.
Recommended Reading: Professional Liability Insurance For Engineers
Switch Today And Save Big
Auto insurance from Plymouth Rock Assurance gives New York customers the best care, guidance and advice, all at a competitive price.
We strive to make insurance easy! Our agents and licensed insurance professionals can answer your questions and are here when you need us most. They can also tell you about which discounts you might qualify for, saving you even more on your auto insurance policy. In fact, drivers could save over $645* by switching to Plymouth Rock.
Check Out A New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com
Important Information:If you currently have an active flood insurance policy, please call us for the most accurate quote at .
If you don’t currently have an active flood policy, click “Continue” to get a quote online.
GEICO Insurance Agency, Inc. has partnered with to provide insurance products. When you click “Continue” you will be taken to their website, which is not owned or operated by GEICO. GEICO has no control over their privacy practices and assumes no responsibility in connection with your use of their website. Any information that you directly provide is subject to the privacy posted on their website.
Read Also: Who Has The Cheapest Home Insurance
Cheapest Full Coverage Car Insurance In New York For 40
Drivers in New York with clean driving records may want to think about the following companies, which had the lowest average rates:
Main Street America: $1,028 per year, or about $86 per month.
Progressive: $1,389 per year, or about $116 per month.
Erie: $1,439 per year, or about $120 per month.
Preferred Mutual: $1,760 per year, or about $147 per month.
Geico: $1,786 per year, or about $149 per month.
Faqs About New York Car Insurance
I am a Low-Income Driver. What Can I do About Getting Car Insurance in New York?
While New York doesnt offer a special insurance program for low-income drivers, there are a few rules that keep car insurance companies from discriminating against low-income drivers in New York. Car insurance companies in New York are not allowed to factor in your occupation or level of education when calculating your car insurance premium. The idea is to make sure that insurance costs are based on driving performance and history rather than income or socio-economic factors.
Can an Undocumented Worker get Car Insurance in New York?
It is against the law in New York to deny anyone with a valid drivers license the opportunity to apply for car insurance, regardless of the drivers citizenship, immigration status, or legal status. The New York Drivers License Access and Privacy Act commonly known as the Green Light Law also protects drivers from being denied insurance coverage based on race, creed, skin color, national origin, disability, sex, marital status, or advanced age.
Is it Possible to Get Car Insurance in New York With a DUI Mark on my Record?
New York drivers with a DUI conviction can still be insured. However, they can expect their car insurance rates to increase by 85 percent on average. DUIs and other major traffic violations stay on your New York driving record for as long as ten years.
You May Like: What Is Non Medicare Insurance
Factors That Can Impact Your Car Insurance Rates In New York
In addition to selecting the coverages, limits and deductibles thats right for you, these factors could also affect your car insurance rates in New York:
- The type of car youre insuring
- Your driving habits and annual mileage
- Demographic factors, like zip code
- Any discounts you may qualify for
Learn more about these factors that could impact your car insurance premium.
When You Rent A Car
Car rental agreements vary from one car rental company to another. However, all car rental companies must provide the minimum coverages required by law. Car rental companies may sell a Collision Damage Waiver , also known as “Optional Vehicle Protection” . For rentals of 30 consecutive days or less, car rental companies in New York State can sell CDW, or, if not purchased, charge a renter for the total value of a stolen or damaged rental vehicle. The daily cost of the CDW may be as high as $12, depending on the value of the vehicle.
In addition, some car rental companies offer higher liability limits than the required 25/50/10 at an additional cost. You may want to purchase this additional coverage if you do not own a car. If you already have a policy with higher liability limits, it will provide the coverage while renting a car. Some rental car companies are also licensed to sell additional accident and health coverage and coverage for personal items stolen from the vehicle. These coverages are also regulated under the New York State Insurance Law and must be underwritten by a licensed New York State insurer.
Recommended Reading: Life Insurance Over 60 No Medical Exam